Parent Taught Driver
Education Course

Register Your Parent To Become Your Drivers Education Instructor. Satisfies Texas DPS Requirements.

GET STARTED

Testimonials

Parent Taught Driver Education Course Overview

PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER EDUCATION is a program that consists of 7 levels. In each of these levels, there will be a driving section and a classroom section. The student must pass with a score of 70% or higher. The program has been developed in such a way to help the student retain the information obtained from the program. No overloading of material is necessary for the brain to learn. Just relax and pay attention to all of the details involved with driving. Then after having completed all of the tasks and goals in the program, the student may then be able to receive his/her driver's license.

When am I eligible to take the permit test?

You are eligible to take the permit exam after having completed 6 hours of the PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER EDUCATION program.

When am I eligible to take my driving test?

You are eligible to take your driving test after the whole PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER EDUCATION program has been completed. At the end of the program, a driver's certificate link will pop-up, and at the moment you can click the link and download the associated document. Then print that document and take it to the Department of Public Safety to receive your driver's license.

FAQ

Students

  • The student must be greater than 14 years of age but less than 17 years old.
  • Driving tests are mandatory for all teens beginning to drive.
  • Texas law requires a minimum of 10 night driving hours and a minimum of 34 day driving hours.
  • All students beginning to drive have a 1 year restriction on their driver's license.
    • No driving between 12 AM - 5 AM; unless, an emergency or work/school related issue has occurred.
    • Only 1 passenger can be under 21 years of age if he/she is not a family member.
    • No cell phones, tablets, walkie talkies, electronic devices, etc. while driving; unless, in the case of an emergency.

Instructors

  • The instructor must have a valid driver's license.
  • The instructor must have held a valid driver's license for at least the past 3 years.
  • The instructor must be a parent, foster parent, step parent, legal guardian, grand parent, or step grandparent.
  • The instructor must have not had any driving felony convictions.
  • The instructor must have less then 6 points on their current driving record.
  • The instructor must not be disabled due to mental illness.

If there are any questions, please give our techincal support team a call at 512-222-1118.

You can download your initial DE-964E, which is used to obtain your driver's permit, and your final DE-964E, which can be used to obtain your driver's license, after your purchase of the PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER EDUCATION program. Print that certificate and bring it to your local Department of Public Safety to receive your driver's permit or license.
At a minimum you will spend no less then 32 hours, due to Texas State Law. Each page is set for a certain amount of time, and when the alotted amount of time has been reached the you may then move to the next page in the PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER EDUCATION program. Luckily! There is no max time to take the program, so take your time, learn and relax. You're learning many rules that will help you your whole life. Please be attentive.

Tech Support

PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER EDUCATION has a wonderful support team. Daily we strive to provide all of our customers with fast and accuration information helping resolve any problems or issues that may arise. Our support team is open Monday - Saturday awaiting your phone call.